EF Educational Tours Customer Reviews

Top Rated Tour

Tour Reviews

EF Educational Tours China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28(100%)customers would recommend this tour to a friend.
Customer Reviews for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Review 1 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: Chaperone
Reviewer type: Adult traveller
Tours traveled on: 6 or more
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2009
My location:Edmonton, Alberta
China is a MUST SEE!
Date:December 6, 2010
By cdnglobetrotter1
Holy cow! I have toured with students for years and have never taken a better tour. The food, hotels, sights, Tour Director, and local guides were all above amazing!
The Great Wall, The Forbidden City, The Terracotta Warriors, and on and on...all were far more than we expected.
GO TO CHINA!!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: Parent who did not travel
Reviewer type: Parent
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2010
My location:Hanmer, Ontario
Extraordinary learning experience
Date:December 5, 2010
By Carolina
Although I was a bit weary about sending my child to China on an educational tour, I had been there myself and knew deep down inside that the experience would enrich her life and open her mind to the wonders of the world. My daughter still revels when she talks about the culture she witnessed and the sites she visited. It has enhanced her desire to learn about ancient civilizations and other cultures. She strives to excel in school because she can now see the justification in higher education. From the flight to the food, there is not one complaint to be made. The tour guides were amazing and extremely knowledgeable and personable. If a parent truly loves their child and has the ability to do so, they should give the gift of travel with E/F. It is the most enriching experience!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: Administrator
Reviewer type: Group leader
Tours led: First tour
Travel month: April
Travel year: 2009
My location:Edmonton, Alberta
Life Changing
Date:December 3, 2010
By David57
For us, the Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai trip was the first step in what will be a longterm relationship between our school and China. As our school has always had international students from China, this trip provided a window into their world for all of us who participated. For students, it opened their eyes to a rich culture that is simply not a significant part of our curriculum, but will be huge part of their future world. For those of us in positions of leadership, it opened our eyes to the world of possible partnerships with this wonderful country. Two years later, we are in the midst of forming our first partnership with a school from northeast China. Bravo EF. Your tour was the spark!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: High school student
Reviewer type: Student traveller
Tours traveled on: First tour
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2008
My location:Victoria BC Canada
Welcome to China
Date:December 2, 2010
By Wren
This trip was nothing less than AMAZING !!!!
I loved every bit of the 9 days and every thing that I was exposed to, especially the culture.
The people , the life style, the culture all gave me a better appreciation of what people's lives are like in other Countries.
This was my first Expierence travelling away from the comforts of home and I was totally at ease every day as I knew that we had a wonderful guide looking after us and assuring that we were happy with everything.
Now I have "the travel bug " and hope to travel more in the near future !
Thank you so much EF tours
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: High school student
Reviewer type: Student traveller
Tours traveled on: First tour
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2013
Amazing Trip!
Date:August 21, 2013
By ChinaTraveller
This was definitely the trip of a lifetime! I will remember it fondly forever. If you have the chance to go on this trip, take it! You absolutely won't regret it. I even learned a little mandarin while on it! The guides were all super nice, and really professional. They had the answer to ANY question you could think to ask! I couldn't believe all the amazing things we got to see, while paying so little. The entire trip cost what airfare would have cost on my own. Thank you EF!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: High school student
Reviewer type: Student traveller
Tours traveled on: First tour
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2011
My location:Coleman, Ontario
Most Incredible Experience!
Date:June 7, 2012
By Madie
This trip was absolutly the most amazing thing I have ever done, in my entire life. I learned so much in such an amazing way that I was taught and remembered more on this 9 day tour of China than I would have had I taken a year long course. I just retained it all becuase we had a spectacular guide who was responsible, entertaining and extremely knowlegeable. I must say that it would have been nice to have one extra day in each city, but with the same amount of things, so that our days were not so jammed packed. One day was so busy and full that my friend and I both fell asleep during the Kung Fu show at the end of the night, although it was amazing we just could not keep our eyes open. But we had the best seats in all shows that we went to, the food was fantastic, and although the beds were very hard (which we learned was customary in China) I was more than satisfied with the rooms and always had a good night sleep. Another thing is that I would have liked to be a little more prepared for the weather, it was quite a bit colder than I expected, and I didnt really bring the cloths that I should have, but I still enjoyed it. It was a very very safe trip and I never felt worried for my safety. I would absolutly recomend this trip to ANYONE!
Review 7 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: Middle school teacher
Reviewer type: Group leader
Subject taught: Humanities
Tours led: 4-9
Travel month: July
Travel year: 2009
My location:Coldbrook, Nova Scotia
Amazing Amazing Amazing ! ! !
Date:March 2, 2011
By Cams
Worth your money....
awesome tour....
well run & interesting!
Your student will love it !
You will love love love it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: Parent who did not travel
Reviewer type: Parent
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2010
My location:Athabasca, Alberta, Canada
Wonderful Trip
Date:December 20, 2010
By Sparky55
My son went on the China trip and came home wanting to go again. The tour guides were beyond amazing and the trip progressed flawlessly. He raved about his experience then and even now 9 months later he still claims he'd go again. Our younger son can't wait for his turn for a high school trip and we look forward to the opportunity to travel through EF Tours again.
Review 9 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: Chaperone
Reviewer type: Adult traveller
Tours traveled on: 3-5
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2008
My location:Gores Landing Ontario
wonderful and enjoyable - educational..too short
Date:December 6, 2010
By kilema
The trip was amazing. China has so much to offer in terms of art, history, culture, politics, music, industry, medicine - 5000 years of knowledge and wisdom...now open to the world. The guides we had were outstanding and very well informed and their language skills were excellent. The trip captured small pieces of China that made me want to come back again.
Review 10 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: High school teacher
Reviewer type: Group leader
Subject taught: Humanities
Tours led: 4-9
Travel month: July
Travel year: 2009
My location:Coldbrook, Nova Scotia
Absolutely Awesome
Date:December 3, 2010
By Cams
The experience of travelling to China was amazing & even more so when are our group made the trip in July of 2009. Everything from the weather in Beijing to the Terra Cotta Warriors in Xi'an to the people of Shanghai & the Biggest Buddah with cable car ride in Hong Kong, this trip was everything and more. We were treated extremly well and our students and adult participants fell in love with the Chinese culture, people and Tour Director. We loved the shows, the experience of variety of the food, the Tea ceremony, the markets, the Chinese art lesson, early Tai Chi sessions, walking on the Great Wall, the boat tours, interacting with the people of China and being the centre of many photo shoots! I would take a group back to China without a second thought! It simply was an AWESOME & an INSPIRATIONAL trip!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 11 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: Parent who did not travel
Reviewer type: Parent
Travel month: July
Travel year: 2009
My location:Mississauga Ontario
I want to go back
Date:December 3, 2010
By Coby
It has been over a year since my daughter was on her trip to China and not a month goes by that she still doesn't say that it was the best trip she has ever been on. She only wishes it had been even longer, that she could have seen more of the country and she wishes she bought more presents to bring back. She has become the best bargain hunter since her trip and loves the game of bargaining for products yet willing to walk away and hope they call her back
Review 12 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Traveller type: High school student
Reviewer type: Student traveller
Tours traveled on: First tour
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2009
My location:Ontario
Spectacular Experience!
Date:December 3, 2010
By KittyM
I had an amazing time on my trip to China. I feel I got to experience things I wouldn't have done on my own if I went by myself. Having tour guides that spoke the language and was able to point you towards places of interest was fantastic! It was something I probably wouldn't do by myself the first time. But I really want to go back now that I've gotten a taste for it! EF tours made my mom feel safe about sending me across the world for 12 days. All the hotels we stayed in were clean and in a safe area. I would definately do another tour with EF!
Review 13 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Traveller type: High school student
Reviewer type: Student traveller
Tours traveled on: First tour
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2008
My location:Toronto, Ontario
Great Time
Date:December 3, 2010
By Phoenix
I had a great time on my tour around China. I thought it was very well planned out and fairly priced. I saw a lot and I'll never forget it.
Review 14 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Traveller type: Adult traveller
Reviewer type: Adult traveller
Tours traveled on: First tour
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2009
My location:Victoria BC
One more off the Bucket List-Wow
Date:December 3, 2010
By CrazyAunt1
Travelled with a middle school group including a family member. Overall the experience was a positve and most enjoyable one. Lifetime wish to see The Great Wall, the Terra Cotta Army was icing on the cake. All the guides were very personable and informative and eager to answer any other questions we had. The transportation was good, clean well maintained buses with good drivers. The meals on the whole were very good, depending of course on the travellers personal tastes but that is an issue all over and especially with teens. They really enjoyed that some of the lunch stops were slanted toward their "recognized fast food favorites" Though most really enjoyed the "real" food. The accommodations were perfectly acceptable, clean, though there was just a couple things that we found that were not to the standards we expect here at home, but they were not overly important things and can happen anywhere.
As for any complaints or dislikes-on the whole very little to complain about-would though, like to have had more time at some of the venues as they are large and I felt rushed at times to catch up or move on while I was trying to take pictures, sometimes it takes a little time to get everyone together for special pics. There is a lot to absorb in China. As you can see there were lots more pluses than minuses and we enjoyed ourselves very much and consider it money well spent. I would not hesitate to tell others that should they get the chance to travel with your company that they do so, as it was a great emperience for us. Thanks Crazy Aunt
Review 15 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: Parent who did not travel
Reviewer type: Parent
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2010
My location:Athabasca, AB Canada
Experience of a Lifetime!
Date:December 3, 2010
By mychildsmom
This was an experience of a life time for my son. It is something I am sure he will never forget. Not only did he learn about another country's culture, experiencing it personally, but also the necessities of travel to another country. Spending time in someone's home and seeing first hand how they live in comparison to his own family life, comparing schools, everyday shopping, and how they got from one place to another was amazing. The knowledge, maturity and memories that he gained from this experience will be with him for a lifetime.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 16 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: High school student
Reviewer type: Student traveller
Tours traveled on: First tour
Travel month: April
Travel year: 2009
My location:Surrey, British Columbia
Chinaaaaaaaaa!
Date:December 2, 2010
By Juds
Well the hype before the trip was crazy, made every day counting down so much better. When it was finally time for take off we couldn't even sleep on the plane. Then the awaited moment arrived. WE WERE IN BEIJING! the airport was beautiful, and I don't recall getting lost in there so I suppose thats good thing. We met up with our tour guide Coco Lee, she was amazing. She kept us entertained on the long bus rides when most of us were catching up on rest due to jet lag. The jet lag didn't matter when we were able to see all the sites, the memories and sites are instilled in my mind. My favorite would be the great wall, the forbidden city, the burried clay soldiers and the summer palace. Honestly there were so many things we saw in such a short period of time it was crazy how it was all coming at us. Nonetheless I enjoyed it all, wouldn't want to do it any other way for my first time. It was the only way I would have my eyes open to different cultures. I would love to go back if i could. The hotels we stayed in were quite nice except there was the one where the outside didn't look very modern, in fact it was missing some letters, possibly renovating. It was also neat to be able to come across other students doing the tours as well, I was lucky enough to get to talk to some students from other schools we shared our experiences with each other. Overall I thought the trip was great I felt very safe and secure in the city although on the roads i would prefer not to be a pedestrian. When it was time to leave, we were all exhuasted ready to go home but at the same time If given the chance we could definatly stay and learn and experience more.
Review 17 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Traveller type: High school student
Reviewer type: Student traveller
Tours traveled on: Second tour
Travel month: July
Travel year: 2009
My location:Owen Sound, Ontario
Euphoric Experience
Date:December 2, 2010
By Chase
My trip to China was well and beyond an unforgettable experience. The 12 day trip will undoubtedly remain as a highlight of my teenage years throughtout the course of my life. EF was amazing, tour guides so personable! A good friend caught an eye infection, and could have went blind, and our tour operator accompanied her to a nearby hospital and made sure she received proper treatment. Although China remains the 4th largest country I believe I saw most of it during my time there with EF. The Great wall was liberating, a breath of fresh air, literally, from the hustle and bustle of Beijing. Be sure to be knowledgeable of currency as vendors their are eager to take advantage of ill-equipped tourists from Canada and the U.S. The hotels were top notch, and close to major tourists actractions. The organization, packed agendas resulted in an overall amazing experience, and I believe the quality of my time I'n Asia would have been diminished had I not travelled with EF tours. Highly recommended, and I look forward to traveling with you guy's in the near future.
Review 18 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Traveller type: High school student
Reviewer type: Student traveller
Tours traveled on: Second tour
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2009
My location:Victoria, British Columbia
An Adventure of a lifetime
Date:December 2, 2010
By TheHalfGingerPirate
This was an experience that allowed me to travel outside my own doorstep and experience a culture which i have always been curious about. The food, the people and even the landscape was something i wil never forget. Iwould like to thank EF tours and my school for allowing me this amazing oppurtunity :)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 19 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Traveller type: Parent traveller
Reviewer type: Adult traveller
Tours traveled on: First tour
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2008
My location:Victoria Bc Canada
Wonderful adventure !
Date:December 2, 2010
By casey
My personal expierece was something that will be with me forever.
I really didn't set high standards as I wasn't sure what to expect as this was my very first time dealing with EF
I still talk about this trip as if it were just yesterday, being exposed to all the amazing culture and expierencing the different ways people in China live was truely life changing, I came home with a whole new out look at my life as a Canadian.
I loved that we were busy every day with something new to look forward to. Our guide was informative and very kind, I felt that I was in very good hands.
I'm grateful that I was able to take lots of pictures and share with my Daughter this amazing expierence . Thank you for providing such a wonderful memory.
Review 20 for China: Beijing, Xian and Shanghai (9 Days)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Traveller type: University student
Reviewer type: Student traveller
Tours traveled on: Second tour
Travel month: March
Travel year: 2008
My location:Toronto
A Trip I Will Never Forget
Date:December 2, 2010
By Stef123456
My trip to China was such a great experience. It opened my eyes to a culture I hardly knew about. Most of my tour directors were fun, easy to talk to, and well-educated which helped to make the trip more interesting. I liked how the tour covered many different activities, all from the Great Wall to learning how to write Chinese Calligraphy in an art museum. The tour featured main tourist attractions but also of unknown, local places which gave me the feeling that I was getting to know the country individually and personally. My favourite memory was visiting the Yu-Yuan Gardens. They were so beautiful and I loved how it was hidden in a little nook inside a marketplace, which gave it the element of surprise. One thing that I disliked was how we did not spend enough time in Hong Kong. I would have liked to see more, and I felt like we were pressed for time there. All in all, the trip was fun and exciting, very memorable (I haven't forgotten a thing!) and the best part was that I got to spend it with my best friends.
12next>>